Day three juice fast: Kombucha

Today was day three, more of the same today, although I may have had to sneak some food (thanks to there being zero places I could get a juice from!! Have had a bit of a headache ever since, that will teach me)…

So today is my first post in a series of things I’m going to write entitled Things I Like 😀 Which is good, cause there are just so many awesome things I’m liking right now, and I want to share them with you. First thing on my list is KOMBUCHA. I chose this as my first post because I have a scoby on its way and I am about ready to make up my first ever batch.

What is Kombucha? Basically, you make up some tea, stick some sugar in it and add a scoby, and let the fermentation happen. What is a scoby you ask? Basically its a white disc of bacteria and yeast, which will eat up all of the sugar you put in, and release its live probiotics, vitamin B and antioxidants (all the good stuff) into the drink. It looks like this: http://www.anneskombucha.com/what-is-scoby/

To me kombucha tastes like apple cider vinegar, and if you werent wanting to make it yourself you can buy commercial brands in different flavours  in health food stores. If you would like to read more, check this out: http://www.eatlifewhole.com/2013/06/what-is-kombucha-and-is-it-really-good-for-you/

I am excited to make my first batch after trying some from the health food store recently. I will take photos of what I’m doing for you all to have a look, cant wait!! Whats great is that I can have it on my juice fast to add some good bacterias into my belly, and I found when I was drinking the ones I bought I was much less bloated and uncomfortable, which is so good, big time plus for me 🙂

If you want to try a nice one, this is the one I drank from the health food shop. 1551694_10152017616368961_110967138_nI have been reading about kombucha for about a year before I worked up the nerve to even try it, completely glad I did!!!!!

Anyhow, hope you are all having a good night, its time for a big glass of water and a long sleep for me 🙂

xx

Leave a Reply

