My Favourite Juices and Smoothies

Hi everyone. Wow, its been a long time between posts, and I’m sorry about that. November has been one entirely hectic and crazy month, mostly not in the best of ways, but 2013 seems to be picking itself up and dusting itself off as we come into summer πŸ™‚

A lot of cool things happened: I was a hair model for a hair show, we did our Sydney trip and went to a beautiful wedding, I got all of my uni results back (a distinction for microbiology and another distinction for nutritional analysis and meal planning, and I FINALLY passed stupid maths, woo-hoo!!!) and loads of other things. Then some not great things that produced quite a bit of stress. And these are the things that become the over-tiredness and the not looking after myself properly.

But its getting better, I have deferred the uni subject I was going to do over summer until next year, and decided to take some time out to refresh, relax and pick myself up so that I have an awesome 2014 πŸ˜€ And I cant wait!!!! So many awesome things will be happening in 2014, I am so excited.

Anyway, here a few cool cool photos of the nice things that have been happening lately:

IMG_3351IMG_3339IMG_3342

My AWESOMELY cool hair for the hair show πŸ˜€

IMG_3361

Me outside Zumbos on our Sydney trip, I do love that man πŸ˜€

IMG_3487

All ready for the wedding

IMG_3322

And me finally getting to wear my favourite Michael Kors dress, its actually getting a bit too big, had to wear it before I got any smaller ha ha ha ha ha

So, lots of people ask me what it is that Im drinking in these jars all the time, so today I thought Id share a couple of juice and smoothie recipes that I love. At the moment I am attempting a juice fast (I say attempting because Ive been a bit stressed and a bit crap at the ‘fasting’ part of it, Ive been having the juice, and then some foods too) and I definitely have different tastes for different times of the day.

For my ‘breakfast’ I usually have just under a litre of warm water with a whole lemon squeezed into it. Thats it until about 10am (that water fills you up pretty good!!) when I have my first juice/smoothie. When I say smoothie I dont mean a big stack of cows milk with a few bananas and some hone y and ice cream thrown in, NO. I mean my berry smoothie or my orange and grapefruit smoothie.

BERRY SMOOTHIE

75g frozen blueberries

75g frozen raspberries

1/2 cup oat milk

1 cup coconut water

1 Tbl chia seeds

Blend it all up. A squeeze of lime is good in this one too.

IMG_1765

ORANGE AND GRAPEFRUIT SMOOTHIE

3 small oranges, juiced

1/2 giant grapefruit, juiced

10 ice cubes

Squeeze of lime

Big spoonful of grapefruit sorbet (recipe is here: https://daisyflowersblog.wordpress.com/2013/11/06/grapefruit-sorbet-and-other-exciting-things/)

Blend it all up.

IMG_3615

And the juices I have the most:

GREEN JUICE

3 or 4 leaves of kale

1/2 large cucumber

4 stalks of celery

1 green apple

1380241_10151824612578961_2125392842_n

PURPLE JUICE

Same as for the green juice, but add 1 beetroot, 1 lemon or grapefruit, and some carrot

And one of my favourites will always be an apple, orange, carrot and celery juice πŸ™‚ yum πŸ˜€

These are all pretty basic, but super yum and give you lots of awesome nutrients and vitamins, and energy!!!

IMG_3559

IMG_3558 So again, sorry its been so long between posts, but things are looking up and I expect to be able to use summer to try heaps of new yum recipes and do lots of fun work on myself πŸ˜€ Looking forward to 2014!!!!

xx

One thought on “My Favourite Juices and Smoothies

  1. Ur hair looks absolutely amazing!!!!! How did they do that? & how long did it take?? My goodness!!! Sounds like a big mixture of things going on for u Daisy, but it’s nice to c u back 😊 xx

Leave a Reply

