Grapefruit sorbet, and other exciting things…

Well its my ‘holidays’, and by that I mean I have no uni work, but have a long list of other stuff I have been wanting to get done this past year that I haven’t yet been able to do. Its funny, but when you stop the go go go of everything and relax for a minute, you find out exactly how tired you are. But I must keep going…..

I have started up my exercising again, which is great πŸ˜€ I love my cross trainer, its right up there with dancing and Pilates as my favourite exercises ever. Its just a time to listen to music, and think, and relax. Yes, relax πŸ™‚ So I am excited to be doing it again, and need to work out how to work it into every day when I get back to uni work, its going to be super important.

I have a huge goal right now, Pilates school is coming up in March of next year, so excited, but to feel completely confident I need to feel comfortable, and the size I am currently just will not work. I have a very busy summer ahead of me!!!! But I am happy that I can do it, I dont feel the pressure (yet) and just have to get right into it. Preparation is the main thing, meal planning and prep, planning exercise times, and not getting off track are really big key things for me. I am so likely to eat badly and not exercise if I feel rushed or haven’t planned what to eat previously, so will be doing that for the next couple of days.

But Ive been doing workouts already this week, as you can see πŸ˜€

IMG_2856

This is pretty much what I do each time I exercise, its really awesome πŸ™‚ Need to add in PIlates training now and some weights, have been a bit slack with both of those lately….

So, enough about that, who wants a recipe??? I’m going to start putting recipes on here, I get asked about things I make a fair bit, so here is my first one!!! My neighbour gave me a huge shopping bag of grapefruit from his tree, and not being a huge grapefruitΒ  fan I usually throw half in a juice. But having no juicer at the moment (come on post man!!!) I had no idea what to do with them!! On a raw food page I’m on someone suggested sorbet, and ginger, so I made up my own recipe. And the result? Awesome, if I do say so myself πŸ˜€ Its sour, gingery, with a hint of lime and mint, so refreshing and yum.

Ingredients:

4 grapefruit

1 lime

3 Tbl maple syrup

1 ripe banana

6 leaves of mint (I used pineapple mint)

2cm piece of ginger

IMG_2859

Peel 3 of the grapefruit the banana and put into a blender/food processor until pureed. Add the juice of the 4th grapefruit, most of the juice (saving about a tsp separately) of the lime, and maple syrup and give it another mix. Finely chop the mint, peel the ginger and roughly chop it, and put both of these into a mortar and pestle with the leftover bit of the lime juice, and smash it up until it becomes a paste. Add to the blender and mix all of this up.

If you have an ice cream maker (I do) you should set it up to the manufacturers instructions, and use it now. Put in freezer once its done to make it more firm. IMG_2861

If not, you can put all of the mixture into a bowl and put into the freezer until almost solid. Then break it up and put it into the food processor and mix until smooth, then place it back into the freezer.

And you are done! Super yum sorbet!!!!!!

IMG_2863

You can do this with almost any fruit, and with summer almost here I cant wait to make so many more different flavours, will post them as I make them πŸ˜€

Another awesome thing that has happened is that one of my biggest inspirational people, Jess Ainscough, has released her book yay!!!!! I already have the e-book, and my paper copy (not the same as the e-book) is on its way woo hoo!!!

IMG_2854

Do yourself a favour and buy this. The reason I like her so much is that while she has not done traditional uni and stuff like what I’m doing, she has studied the effects of food and healing in the body, and has used this to heal herself from disease. She promotes healthy living and wholefoods, and her blog is fantastic if you want to check out more: http://www.thewellnesswarrior.com.au/

So everyone, I hope you have enjoyed this post, cant wait to make more recipes, and hope you are all having a nice day πŸ˜€

IMG_2838

My view from my coffee πŸ˜€ Dont forget to relax xx

One thought on “Grapefruit sorbet, and other exciting things…

  1. Pingback: My Favourite Juices and Smoothies | daisyflowers

Leave a Reply

