Day Sixty Eight: And the uni work continues….

Yeah, I’m not posting as often as I was, or as often as I want to ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Uni is getting a bit hectic and I am just so busy….. Once I have finished this essay though there is a little bit of breathing space so that will be good ๐Ÿ™‚

So today was a big step for me: I ate an all vegetable dinner, that didnt have a sauce, or pasta, or some kind of bread or meat substitute or anything, it was completely vegetables. For someone who wants to eventually be a high percentage raw, here is my big secret: I don’t really love vegetables. If you are asking “then why in the world would you make that the only food you eat you crazy lady”, the answer is simple, well, to me anyway: I don’t want to feel like this any more, I want the energy and the glowing skin and the healthy-ness that comes with that kind of diet and lifestyle.

I know people on raw diets who glow in the dark. Or look like they would. They have this sparkle and health about them that I want. Put it in a bottle, i’ll buy a hundred of them. Unfortunately, its not that easy, so my main task is to talk myself into liking veggies by themselves. So tonight, I made myself this:

IMG_1317

So I watched Better Homes and Gardens last night, and Karen made this ๐Ÿ˜€ I thought that it looked possibly like something I could eat, and did I ever ๐Ÿ˜€ It had red potatoes, butternut pumpkin, sweet potato, parsnip, beetroot, red onion, fresh thyme (from our garden, yay I finally used something out there!!), red wine vinegar, flat leaf parsley, danish feta and pepper and pink salt. And wow….. I am sold on these veggies ๐Ÿ˜€ I have never had parsnip before, so I only put one in, should have put both and less potato.

I was a little bit impressed that I made vegetables that were so yum that weren’t just potato. I have tasted lots of different vegetables, and eaten them for most of my life, I might sound like a vege-o-phobe but I do eat them, just not as a main, and not as my first choice, ever. It has encouraged me to look at a lot more recipes that are vegetables only, so that was really good, and a step in the right direction for me!!!

Walking around in the supermarket today, I was all set to buy myself ‘a treat’. Usually, a treat to me means something unhealthy, that I super REALLY shouldn’t be eating, I’m talking like a big bag of chips and a container of dip, or something as equally full of fat, sugar, cream, that sort of thing. Today however, nothing looked appealing at all. Its becoming that way, things I used to like I just have really lost the taste for. My treat that I ended up buying, because I was really interested to seeing what I can do with them more than anything else, were these tiny little red baby capsicums.

IMG_1318

I have in no way enhanced the colour of that photo by the way, how awesome do they look ๐Ÿ˜€ You just KNOW they are packed with vitamins, I cant wait to make something with them!!!

I have also ventured into the world of the dreaded GLUTEN FREE BREAD. BAH-BOW (cue sinister horror music here). If you have ever had gluten free bread you will know that the majority of it gives bread a really bad name, as it tastes and has a texture more like dish-washing sponges than anything else. That goes for pizza bases too. So with the bread I used to buy as it was the only thing I could tolerate being covered in ice on the shelf last time I went to buy it (do NOT even try to sell me frozen bread as fresh, its particularly rude), I have been boycotting bread. But the winter need for hot toast with vegemite has been calling me, so I went to look at the sponge bread, in hope of finding something tolerable that would toast up ok. And I found it *HUGE SIGH OF RELIEF!!!*

IMG_1311

This is yum. It still has undertones of sponge, but the seeds on and in it make it soooo much nicer than any other one I’ve ever had, I highly recommend it. It is also over the $6 a loaf mark for a tiny little one, so make the most of it. Just so happy with my vegemite toast though, 2 little pieces are definitely better than none!!

Anyway, thats been my day, already looking forward to leftover veggies on a piece of bread for breakfast, mmmmm ๐Ÿ˜€

xx

P.S I just had a think about it while re-reading this: I am not bloated with a sore belly tonight. Potato usually has a not happy effect on me, and sweet potato, but for some reason I feel light and normal in the belly. I just thought I’d eat it anyway and suffer the consequences, but there aren’t any. Thats kind of weird.

One thought on “Day Sixty Eight: And the uni work continues….

  1. Yay Daisy ๐Ÿ™‚ good to hear that u are trying new things. U sound happy, that makes me happy too ๐Ÿ™‚ Keep going lovely lady xoxo

Leave a Reply

